Press Release

Committee Leaders Comment on Resignation of NRC Chairman Gregory Jaczko


WASHINGTON, DC – House Energy and Commerce Committee Chairman Fred Upton (R-MI), Energy and Power Subcommittee Chairman Ed Whitfield (R-KY), and Environment and the Economy Subcommittee Chairman John Shimkus (R-IL) made the following statement in response to today’s announcement that embattled Nuclear Regulatory Chairman Gregory Jaczko will resign:

“We are hopeful that the resignation of Chairman Jaczko signals a return of comity and collegiality to the Nuclear Regulatory Commission that has been unfortunately absent over the last three years.

“We are eager for the NRC to return its focus back to safety and policy and away from personal feuds, internal struggles, and controversy. If we can learn anything from the past few years, it is that there is no place for politics at the Nuclear Regulatory Commission. We are hopeful that with a new chairman, the commission’s proud tradition of excellence will be restored.

“The commission is at a critical point in its history as it works to improve safety in the wake of Fukushima and license new plants for the first time in over 30 years. We must have a smooth transition to the new chairman to ensure regulatory stability within the nuclear sector. Commissioners Magwood, Ostendorff, Svinicki, and Apostolakis are distinguished public servants and have always and will continue to put the safety interests of the American public first. Chairman Jaczko’s resignation also underscores the urgency for the Senate to swiftly confirm Commissioner Kristine Svinicki before June 30 to ensure her service is not interrupted.

“We have been actively monitoring the NRC during these tumultuous times and will continue our oversight. With these latest developments along with numerous outstanding issues, we look forward to hearing directly from all of the NRC commissioners at some point soon.”


Press Release