Press Release

Upton Announces Subcommittee Chairs and Vice Chairs for the 114th Congress


After Again Being Ratified as Energy and Commerce Chairman, Upton Identifies Committee Leadership Team

WASHINGTON, DC – After once again being selected by his colleagues to serve as Chairman of the U.S. House Committee on Energy and Commerce, Congressman Fred Upton (R-MI) today announced the committee leadership he intends to appoint for the 114th Congress. Five out of the six subcommittee chairmen will return to their posts, and Rep. Michael C. Burgess, M.D. (R-TX) will succeed Rep. Lee Terry  (R-NE) leading the Commerce, Manufacturing, and Trade Subcommittee. Rep. Marsha Blackburn (R-TN) will continue to serve as full committee Vice Chair and Rep. Joe Barton (R-TX) will continue serving as Chairman Emeritus.

“It is a privilege to have the continued trust and support of my colleagues to lead the Energy and Commerce Committee in the 114th Congress. We have a diverse and talented team of leaders that will help the committee build upon our proud bipartisan record of success in the next Congress. The American people expect results, from advancing 21st Century Cures, to updating our communications laws to unleash unprecedented growth and innovation, and embracing our energy boom by building the Architecture of Abundance. We have a charge to govern, and we will deliver.”

The Energy and Commerce Committee leadership team for the 114th Congress will be:

Full Committee
Chair: Fred Upton (R-MI)
Vice Chair: Marsha Blackburn (R-TN)
Chairman Emeritus: Joe Barton (R-TX)

Commerce, Manufacturing, and Trade
Chair: Michael C. Burgess, M.D. (R-TX)
Vice Chair: Leonard Lance (R-NJ)

Communications and Technology
Chair: Greg Walden (R-OR)
Vice Chair: Bob Latta (R-OH)

Energy and Power
Chair: Ed Whitfield (R-KY)
Vice Chair: Pete Olson (R-TX)

Environment and the Economy
Chair: John Shimkus (R-IL)
Vice Chair: Gregg Harper (R-MS)

Chair: Joe Pitts (R-PA)
Vice Chair: Brett Guthrie (R-KY)

Oversight and Investigations
Chair: Tim Murphy (R-PA)
Vice Chair: David McKinley (R-WV)

(NOTE: Republican committee members must be officially ratified by the GOP Conference. A final committee membership list will be released when available.)


Press Release