Press Release

Walden, Eshoo Appoint Members of Bipartisan Federal Spectrum Working Group


WASHINGTON, DC – Communications and Technology Subcommittee Chairman Greg Walden (R-OR) and Ranking Member Anna Eshoo (D-CA) today launched a bipartisan Federal Spectrum Working Group to examine how the federal government can use the nation’s airwaves more efficiently.

“Spectrum is the fundamental building block of the wireless ecosystem,” said Walden. “This precious and finite resource drives the technologies that are integral to our 21st century economy. As the largest single spectrum user, the federal government could save taxpayers money and provide its own agencies better technology tools while simultaneously making more frequencies available to meet America’s exploding demand for mobile broadband services. This working group will take a comprehensive, thoughtful, and responsible look at how to improve federal spectrum use as part of our ongoing effort to make the most efficient and effective use of the public’s airwaves.”

“Spectrum is the key ingredient for faster, more ubiquitous wireless broadband, spurring unprecedented growth in new online applications and services,” Rep. Eshoo said. “We need a comprehensive approach to spectrum policy, including an examination of how the federal government uses it. The working group will be tasked with examining ways in which we use spectrum and how we can use it more efficiently.”

Representatives Brett Guthrie (R-KY) and Doris Matsui (D-CA) will co-chair the group. Rounding out the panel will be Rep. John Shimkus (R-IL), Rep. Mike Rogers (R-MI), Rep. Steve Scalise (R-LA), Rep. Diana DeGette (D-CO), Rep. John Barrow (D-GA), and Rep. Donna Christensen (D-VI). Subcommittee Chairman Walden and Ranking Member Eshoo will serve as ex-officio members.

The working group will build on the momentum to improve commercial spectrum allocations through incentive auctions as well as the reforms to the Commercial Spectrum Enhancement Act made in the Middle Class Tax Relief and Job Creation Act of 2012.

Press Release