Bipartisan Committee Leaders Request Information and Documents from GM and NHTSA

March 11, 2014

WASHINGTON, DC – Bipartisan leaders of the House Energy and Commerce Committee today wrote to the General Motors Company (GM) and the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) requesting information about their response to consumer complaints related to problems with stalling, airbag deployment, and ignition switches in certain vehicles. General Motors recently announced a recall of six vehicle models in the U.S. to correct ignition defects that have been linked to 31 frontal crashes and 13 fatalities. While GM first announced the recall last month, reports show that consumers have filed a series of complaints with NHTSA relating to ignition switch, airbag, and stalling problems over the past 10 years. House Energy and Commerce Committee Chairman Fred Upton (R-MI) announced yesterday the committee has opened an investigation in GM’s and NHTSA’s response.

Committee leaders sent letters today to General Motors Company Chief Executive Officer Mary Barra and NHTSA Acting Administrator David Friedman requesting documents detailing the problems and related consumer complaints. The committee requested responses by March 25, 2014.

“This committee has a longstanding history with auto safety issues, and ensuring vehicles on the road are safe remains a top priority for our members. There are several questions surrounding this latest recall, and right now we are just looking for answers to determine what the company and NHTSA knew about these problems, when they knew it, and what they did about it,” said Upton.

“The committee will examine whether GM knowingly allowed faulty and dangerous cars to remain on the road,” said Rep. Waxman. “We will be assessing whether NHTSA has all the tools the agency needs to keep drivers safe."

The letters were signed by full committee Chairman Fred Upton (R-MI), Ranking Member Henry A. Waxman (D-CA), Oversight and Investigations Subcommittee Chairman Tim Murphy (R-PA), Ranking Member Diana DeGette (D-CO), Commerce Manufacturing and Trade Subcommittee Chairman Lee Terry (R-NE), Ranking Member Jan Schakowsky (D-IL), Vice Chairman of the Oversight and Investigations Subcommittee Michael C. Burgess, M.D. (R-TX), Chairman Emeritus Joe Barton (R-TX), full committee Vice Chairman Marsha Blackburn (R-TN), and Rep. John Dingell (D-MI).

To read the letter to GM, click HERE.

To read the letter to NHTSA, click HERE.