Energy and Power

Chairman:  Ed Whitfield (KY-01)
National energy policy; fossil energy; renewable energy; nuclear energy; nuclear facilities; the Department of Energy; the Nuclear Regulatory Commission; the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission; synthetic and alternative fuels; energy conservation; energy information; utility issues; interstate energy compacts; energy generation, marketing, reliability, transmission, siting, exploration, production, efficiency, cybersecurity, and ratemaking for all generated power; pipelines; the Clean Air Act and air emissions; all laws, programs, and government activities affecting energy matters, including all aspects of the above-referenced jurisdiction related to the Department of Homeland Security.



Ed Whitfield (KY), Chairman
Pete Olson (TX), Vice Chairman
John Shimkus (IL)
Joseph R. Pitts (PA)
Bob Latta (OH)
Gregg Harper (MS)
David McKinley (WV)
Mike Pompeo (KS)
Adam Kinzinger (IL)
Morgan Griffith (VA)
Bill Johnson (OH)
Billy Long (MO)
Renee Ellmers (NC)
Bill Flores (TX)
Markwayne Mullin (OK)
Richard Hudson (NC)
Joe Barton (TX)
Fred Upton (MI) (Ex Officio)


Bobby L. Rush (IL), Ranking Member
Jerry McNerney (CA)
Paul Tonko (NY)
Eliot L. Engel (NY)
Gene Green (TX)
Lois Capps (CA)
Michael F. Doyle (PA)
Kathy Castor (FL)
John Sarbanes (MD)
Peter Welch (VT)
John Yarmuth (KY)
David Loebsack (IA)
Frank Pallone, Jr. (NJ) (Ex Officio)

June 2, 2015 | Press Release

WASHINGTON, DC – The Subcommittee on Energy and Power, chaired by Rep.

May 29, 2015 | Press Release

WASHINGTON, DC – The House Energy and Commerce Committee today announced its hearing and vote schedule for the week of June 1.

May 27, 2015 | Press Release

The Subcommittee on Energy and Power has scheduled a two-day hearing for Wednesday, June 3 and Thursday June 4.  On June 3, the subcommittee will meet at 2:00 p.m. in room 2322 of the Rayburn House Office Building and on Thursday June 4, the subcommittee will reconvene at 10:15 a.m. in 2322 Rayburn.

May 20, 2015 | Press Release

The Subcommittee on Energy and Power has rescheduled tomorrow’s hearing with Energy Secretary Moniz. The Secretary will now testify on June 2, 2015, at 10 a.m. in room 2123 of the Rayburn House Office Building.

May 19, 2015 | Press Release

WASHINGTON, DC – The Energy and Power Subcommittee today continued its work to build the Architecture of Abundance with the review of a discussion draft that seeks to improve energy reliability and security.