Energy and Power

Chairman:  Ed Whitfield (KY-01)
National energy policy; fossil energy; renewable energy; nuclear energy; nuclear facilities; the Department of Energy; the Nuclear Regulatory Commission; the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission; synthetic and alternative fuels; energy conservation; energy information; utility issues; interstate energy compacts; energy generation, marketing, reliability, transmission, siting, exploration, production, efficiency, cybersecurity, and ratemaking for all generated power; pipelines; the Clean Air Act and air emissions; all laws, programs, and government activities affecting energy matters, including all aspects of the above-referenced jurisdiction related to the Department of Homeland Security.



Ed Whitfield (KY), Chairman
Pete Olson (TX), Vice Chairman
John Shimkus (IL)
Joseph R. Pitts (PA)
Bob Latta (OH)
Gregg Harper (MS)
David McKinley (WV)
Mike Pompeo (KS)
Adam Kinzinger (IL)
Morgan Griffith (VA)
Bill Johnson (OH)
Billy Long (MO)
Renee Ellmers (NC)
Bill Flores (TX)
Markwayne Mullin (OK)
Richard Hudson (NC)
Joe Barton (TX)
Fred Upton (MI) (Ex Officio)


Bobby L. Rush (IL), Ranking Member
Jerry McNerney (CA)
Paul Tonko (NY)
Eliot L. Engel (NY)
Gene Green (TX)
Lois Capps (CA)
Michael F. Doyle (PA)
Kathy Castor (FL)
John Sarbanes (MD)
Peter Welch (VT)
John Yarmuth (KY)
David Loebsack (IA)
Frank Pallone, Jr. (NJ) (Ex Officio)

August 2, 2013 | Blog Post

During the president’s recent barnstorm across the country in the administration’s attempt to pivot back to jobs and the economy, the president adopted a curious theme at his various rallies –discount and dismiss a jobs project that boasts broad support from Republicans, Democrats, unions, and job cre

August 1, 2013 | Press Release

WASHINGTON, DC – The U.S. House of Representatives today approved H.R. 1582, the Energy Consumers Relief Act, by a vote 232 to 181. The legislation, authored by Rep. Bill Cassidy (R-LA), will put greater interagency checks and balances on the EPA and prevent costly regulations that threaten to destroy jobs and increase energy prices for American job creators and families.

August 1, 2013 | Press Release

WASHINGTON, DC – The Chairman and Ranking Member of the House Energy and Commerce Committee, Reps. Fred Upton (R-MI) and Henry A. Waxman (D-CA), today commended the panel’s thoughtful, comprehensive review of the Renewable Fuel Standard (RFS) and said that bipartisan collaboration on potential reforms will continue in earnest during the upcoming August district work period.

July 31, 2013 | Press Release

WASHINGTON, DC – Members of the House Energy and Commerce Committee stood up for American jobs and affordable energy on the House floor tonight as debate kicked off on H.R. 1582, the Energy Consumers Relief Act. The commonsense legislation, authored by Rep.

July 31, 2013 | ICYMI

After 1776 Days, “There’s No Reason to Say No” 

Click here to watch Chairman Upton’s interview on Fox Business with Stuart Varney