Energy and Power

Chairman:  Ed Whitfield (KY-01)
National energy policy; fossil energy; renewable energy; nuclear energy; nuclear facilities; the Department of Energy; the Nuclear Regulatory Commission; the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission; synthetic and alternative fuels; energy conservation; energy information; utility issues; interstate energy compacts; energy generation, marketing, reliability, transmission, siting, exploration, production, efficiency, cybersecurity, and ratemaking for all generated power; pipelines; the Clean Air Act and air emissions; all laws, programs, and government activities affecting energy matters, including all aspects of the above-referenced jurisdiction related to the Department of Homeland Security.



Chairman: Ed Whitfield (KY)
Vice Chairman: Steve Scalise (LA)
Ralph Hall (TX)
John Shimkus (IL)
Joseph R. Pitts (PA)
Lee Terry (NE)
Michael C. Burgess, M.D. (TX)
Bob Latta (OH)
Bill Cassidy (LA)
Pete Olson (TX)
David McKinley (WV)
Cory Gardner (CO)
Mike Pompeo (KS)
Adam Kinzinger (IL)
Morgan Griffith (VA)
Joe Barton (TX)
Fred Upton (MI)


Ranking Member: Bobby L. Rush (IL)
Jerry McNerney (CA)
Paul Tonko (NY)
John Yarmuth (KY)
Eliot L. Engel (NY)
Gene Green (TX)
Lois Capps (CA)
Michael F. Doyle (PA)
John Barrow (GA)
Doris O. Matsui (CA)
Donna M. Christensen (VI)
Kathy Castor (FL)
John D. Dingell (MI) (non-voting)
Henry A. Waxman (CA)

February 3, 2012 | Letter

To read the letter, click here.

January 24, 2012 | Letter

To read the letter, click here.

To read EPA's response, click here.

January 3, 2012 | Fact Sheet

President Obama signed a comprehensive update to our nation’s pipeline safety laws into law on January 3, 2012. Energy and Commerce Committee Chairman Fred Upton (R-MI) and former Energy and Commerce Committee Chairman John Dingell (D-MI) teamed up to develop legislation that was later combined with proposals from the Transportation and Infrastructure Committee and the U.S.

December 8, 2011 | Fact Sheet

H.R. 1633, the Farm Dust Regulation Prevention Act of 2011, removes the regulatory uncertainty surrounding EPA’s current and future regulation of rural dust. The legislation passed the House on December 8, 2011 by a bipartisan vote of 268 to 150.

H.R. 1633 would: