Energy and Power

Chairman:  Ed Whitfield (KY-01)
National energy policy; fossil energy; renewable energy; nuclear energy; nuclear facilities; the Department of Energy; the Nuclear Regulatory Commission; the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission; synthetic and alternative fuels; energy conservation; energy information; utility issues; interstate energy compacts; energy generation, marketing, reliability, transmission, siting, exploration, production, efficiency, cybersecurity, and ratemaking for all generated power; pipelines; the Clean Air Act and air emissions; all laws, programs, and government activities affecting energy matters, including all aspects of the above-referenced jurisdiction related to the Department of Homeland Security.



Chairman: Ed Whitfield (KY)
Vice Chairman: Steve Scalise (LA)
Ralph Hall (TX)
John Shimkus (IL)
Joseph R. Pitts (PA)
Lee Terry (NE)
Michael C. Burgess, M.D. (TX)
Bob Latta (OH)
Bill Cassidy (LA)
Pete Olson (TX)
David McKinley (WV)
Cory Gardner (CO)
Mike Pompeo (KS)
Adam Kinzinger (IL)
Morgan Griffith (VA)
Joe Barton (TX)
Fred Upton (MI)


Ranking Member: Bobby L. Rush (IL)
Jerry McNerney (CA)
Paul Tonko (NY)
John Yarmuth (KY)
Eliot L. Engel (NY)
Gene Green (TX)
Lois Capps (CA)
Michael F. Doyle (PA)
John Barrow (GA)
Doris O. Matsui (CA)
Donna M. Christensen (VI)
Kathy Castor (FL)
John D. Dingell (MI) (non-voting)
Henry A. Waxman (CA)

July 10, 2012 | Press Release

Rep. Ed Whitfield, Chairman of the Subcommittee on Energy and Power, has scheduled a second, bipartisan forum on “State, Local and Federal Cooperation under the Clean Air Act,” for Thursday, August 2, at 2:00 p.m. This will be the committee’s second meeting on this subject, following the initial forum scheduled for Tuesday, July 31.

July 9, 2012 | Press Release

WASHINGTON, DC – Continuing its efforts under the American Energy Initiative, the U.S. House of Representatives today approved H.R. 5892, the Hydropower Regulatory Efficiency Act. The legislation passed the House with unanimous support. Reps.

July 9, 2012 | Fact Sheet

H.R. 5892, the Hydropower Regulatory Efficiency Act, introduced by Reps. Cathy McMorris Rodgers (R-WA) and Dianna DeGette (D-CO), will help facilitate the development of new hydropower projects across the country by reducing regulatory red tape and streamlining the permitting process.

July 6, 2012 | Press Release

WASHINGTON, DC - Leaders of the House Committee on Energy and Commerce and the House Committee on Agriculture today wrote to EPA Administrator Lisa Jackson regarding the agency’s current plans for ensuring the continued availability

July 6, 2012 | Letter

Excerpt: We are concerned that shortages of methyl bromide and viable methyl bromide alternatives will have a potentially devastating impact on growers in California, Florida, the southeastern United States, and other parts of the country, who have been attempting to transition to alternatives to methyl bromide.