Energy and Power

Chairman:  Ed Whitfield (KY-01)
National energy policy; fossil energy; renewable energy; nuclear energy; nuclear facilities; the Department of Energy; the Nuclear Regulatory Commission; the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission; synthetic and alternative fuels; energy conservation; energy information; utility issues; interstate energy compacts; energy generation, marketing, reliability, transmission, siting, exploration, production, efficiency, cybersecurity, and ratemaking for all generated power; pipelines; the Clean Air Act and air emissions; all laws, programs, and government activities affecting energy matters, including all aspects of the above-referenced jurisdiction related to the Department of Homeland Security.



Ed Whitfield (KY), Chairman
Pete Olson (TX), Vice Chairman
John Shimkus (IL)
Joseph R. Pitts (PA)
Bob Latta (OH)
Gregg Harper (MS)
David McKinley (WV)
Mike Pompeo (KS)
Adam Kinzinger (IL)
Morgan Griffith (VA)
Bill Johnson (OH)
Billy Long (MO)
Renee Ellmers (NC)
Bill Flores (TX)
Markwayne Mullin (OK)
Richard Hudson (NC)
Joe Barton (TX)
Fred Upton (MI) (Ex Officio)


Bobby L. Rush (IL), Ranking Member
Jerry McNerney (CA)
Paul Tonko (NY)
Eliot L. Engel (NY)
Gene Green (TX)
Lois Capps (CA)
Michael F. Doyle (PA)
Kathy Castor (FL)
John Sarbanes (MD)
Peter Welch (VT)
John Yarmuth (KY)
David Loebsack (IA)
Frank Pallone, Jr. (NJ) (Ex Officio)

April 24, 2015 | Press Release

WASHINGTON, DC – As a longtime champion of expanding hydropower in the Northwest and throughout the United States, Rep. Cathy McMorris Rodgers (R-WA) issued the following statement today after releasing a discussion draft on her legislation to update the federal regulation of non-federal hydropower, which gives certainty to those who are working through the regulatory process.

April 23, 2015 | Press Release

WASHINGTON, DC – The Subcommittee on Energy and Power, chaired by Rep. Ed Whitfield (R-KY), today began its work on a comprehensive energy bill with a review of a discussion draft of Title II: 21st Century Workforce.

April 23, 2015 | Press Release

WASHINGTON, DC – The Energy and Power Subcommittee, chaired by Rep. Ed Whitfield (R-KY), has scheduled a hearing for Thursday, April 30, 2015, at 10:15 a.m. in room 2322 of the Rayburn House Office Building.

April 22, 2015 | Press Release

WASHINGTON, DC – The Subcommittee on Energy and Power today voted to approve the Ratepayer Protection Act by a vote of 17 to 12.

April 22, 2015 | ICYMI

On Tuesday, the North American Electric Reliability Corporation (NERC), the nation’s nonpartisan grid overseer, issued a report raising serious concerns with the reliability impacts of EPA’s Clean Power Plan. NERC warned that EPA’s proposed targets and deadlines are unachievable in the near-term, and forcing too many changes too fast could threaten the grid’s reliability.

April 21, 2015 | Press Release

WASHINGTON, DC – The House of Representatives today voted to approve S. 535, the Energy Efficiency Improvement Act of 2015.