Environment and the Economy

Chairman:  John Shimkus (IL-15)
All matters related to soil and water contamination, including Superfund and the Resource Conservation and Recovery Act; the regulation of solid, hazardous, and nuclear wastes, including mining, nuclear, oil, gas, and coal combustion waste; emergency environmental response; industrial plant security, including cybersecurity; the regulation of drinking water (Safe Drinking Water Act), including underground injection of fluids (e.g., deep well injection or hydrofracking); toxic substances (Toxic Substances Control Act); noise; and all aspects of the above-referenced jurisdiction related to the Department of Homeland Security.



Chairman: John Shimkus (IL)
Vice Chairman: Phil Gingrey (GA)
Ralph Hall (TX)
Ed Whitfield (KY)
Joe Pitts (PA)
Tim Murphy (PA)
Bob Latta (OH)
Gregg Harper (MS)
Bill Cassidy (LA)
David McKinley (WV)
Gus Bilirakis (FL)
Bill Johnson (OH)
Joe Barton (TX)
Fred Upton (MI)


Ranking Member: Paul Tonko (NY)
Frank Pallone, Jr. (NJ)
Gene Green (TX)
Diana DeGette (CO)
Lois Capps (CA)
Jerry McNerney (CA)
John D. Dingell (MI)
Jan Schakowsky (IL)
John Barrow (GA)
Doris O. Matsui (CA)
Henry A. Waxman (CA)

May 8, 2012 | Letter

To read the letter, click here.

May 2, 2012 | Letter

To read DOE's response to the committee's March 22, 2012 letter, click here.

To read the committee's initial letter, click here.

April 23, 2012 | Letter

To read the letter, click here.

April 19, 2012 | Hearing

The subcommittee examined H.R. 4345, the Domestic Fuels Protection Act of 2012. This legislation would provide liability protection for the storage of fuels, use of equipment, and sales of fuels when fuels are used appropriately. There are currently no consistent standards or regulatory protections for the sale of all fuels.