Oversight and Investigations

Chairman:  Tim Murphy (PA-18)
Responsibility for oversight of agencies, departments, and programs related to the jurisdiction of the full committee, and for conducting investigations.



Tim Murphy (PA), Chairman
David McKinley (WV), Vice Chairman
Michael C. Burgess, M.D. (TX)
Marsha Blackburn (TN)
Morgan Griffith (VA)
Larry Bucshon (IN)
Bill Flores (TX)
Susan Brooks (IN)
Markwayne Mullin (OK)
Richard Hudson (NC)
Chris Collins (NY)
Kevin Cramer (ND)
Joe Barton (TX)
Fred Upton (MI) (Ex Officio)


Diana DeGette (CO), Ranking Member
Jan Schakowsky (IL)
Kathy Castor (FL)
Paul Tonko (NY)
John Yarmuth (KY)
Yvette D. Clarke (NY)
Joseph P. Kennedy, III (MA)
Gene Green (TX)
Peter Welch (VT)
Frank Pallone, Jr. (NJ) (Ex Officio)

October 8, 2015 | Hearing

Hearing Notice

To read a related press release, click here.

October 2, 2015 | Press Release

WASHINGTON, DC – The House Committee on Energy and Commerce today announced its hearing schedule for the week of October 5.  Additionally, H.R.

October 1, 2015 | Press Release

WASHINGTON, DC – As part of its ongoing investigation into Volkswagen’s emissions issues, the Subcommittee on Oversight and Investigations, chaired by Rep. Tim Murphy (R-PA), has scheduled a hearing for Thursday, October 8, at 10 a.m. in room 2123 of the Rayburn House Office Building. The hearing is entitled, “Volkswagen’s Emissions Cheating Allegations: Initial Questions.”

October 1, 2015 | Press Release

Committee Leaders Are Concerned That Patients Are Being Needlessly Abandoned

October 1, 2015 | Letter

Excerpt: The committee launched an investigation on July 31, 2015, relating to management concerns with the NIH Clinical Centers Pharmaceutical Development Section (PDS). The committee continues this investigation.

September 30, 2015 | Press Release

WASHINGTON, DC – House Energy and Commerce Committee leaders this week continued the investigation into Planned Parenthood’s abortion practices and its handling of fetal tissue. The leaders sent letters to Cecile Richards, the president of Planned Parenthood Federation of America, and the heads of seven Planned Parenthood affiliates.