Oversight and Investigations

Chairman:  Tim Murphy (PA-18)
Responsibility for oversight of agencies, departments, and programs related to the jurisdiction of the full committee, and for conducting investigations.



Chairman: Tim Murphy (PA)
Vice Chairman: Michael C. Burgess, M.D. (TX)
Marsha Blackburn (TN)
Phil Gingrey (GA)
Steve Scalise (LA)
Gregg Harper (MS)
Pete Olson (TX)
Cory Gardner (CO)
Morgan Griffith (VA)
Bill Johnson (OH)
Billy Long (MO)
Renee Ellmers (NC)
Joe Barton (TX)
Fred Upton (MI)


Ranking Member: Diana DeGette (CO)
Bruce Braley (IA)
Ben Ray Lujan (NM)
Jan Schakowsky (IL)
G.K. Butterfield (NC)
Kathy Castor (FL)
Peter Welch (VT)
Paul Tonko (NY)
John Yarmuth (KY)
Gene Green (TX)
John D. Dingell (MI) (non-voting)
Henry A. Waxman (CA)

August 8, 2012 | Press Release

WASHINGTON, D.C.— House Energy and Commerce Committee Chairman Fred Upton (R-MI) and Oversight and Investigations Subcommittee Chairman Cliff Stearns (R-FL) today pressed the White House and a former top Obama administration official to clarify contradicting statements regarding the use of personal em

August 8, 2012 | Letter

Excerpt: While the White House now claims, in contradiction to its earlier statements, that White House employees may have been instructed to forward emails from their personal accounts to their official White House accounts if they involved official government business, a question remains as to whether these employees followed the White House policy.

August 6, 2012 | Press Release

Investor's Business Daily
August 3, 2012

Scandal: The sunlight continues to expose the machinations behind the White House's support of failed solar panel manufacturer Solyndra with our tax dollars, including IBDthe false claim by former White House chief of staff.

August 3, 2012 | Press Release

“Most transparent administration, they thought they were getting clever…” - Sean Hannity

“They’re cutting all these side deals... at the same time that they’re telling the public that, by the way, this is the most transparent bill process you’ve ever seen…” – Rick Klein

August 3, 2012 | Press Release

Watch Bret Baier’s coverage of the committee’s report HERE