Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Bipartisan Encryption Working Group Releases Roadmap

Apr 21, 2016
Press Release
Members of the working group met this week to discuss the path forward

Washington, D.C.  – The bipartisan encryption working group – announced by House Judiciary Committee Chairman Bob Goodlatte (R-VA), Ranking Member John Conyers (D-MI), House Energy and Commerce Committee Chairman Fred Upton (R-MI), and Ranking Member Frank Pallone, Jr. (D-NJ) – today released a roadmap after meeting to discuss the path forward for the group.

Chairmen Goodlatte and Upton and Ranking Members Conyers and Pallone released the following statement on the roadmap:

“The roadmap adopted by the encryption working group this week paves the path toward identifying solutions to the ongoing national debate surrounding encryption. Members of the working group agree that encryption is a critical tool for protecting Americans’ privacy and security and that private industry must continue to increase its effectiveness. However, challenges remain for law enforcement seeking to protect the American people from criminals and terrorists. We look forward to continuing our work on this important issue.”

Roadmap for the Encryption Working Group

Duration:  The working group will work diligently over the next several months to conduct its business with the goal of completing its work by the end of this Congress.

Member and Staff Meetings: Members and staff will conduct meetings with a variety of federal, state, and local government entities, former government officials, private industry and trade associations, civil society organizations, consultants and legal experts, academia, and cryptographers.

Site Visits: Members and staff will participate in a variety of site visits to conduct meetings and receive technical briefings on encryption.

Document/Testimony Submission: Outside groups are encouraged to submit in writing white papers, scholarly articles, or testimony to facilitate the working group’s efforts. These can be emailed to Please be advised that submissions sent will be made publicly available.

Final Product: The meetings, site visits, briefings, and research conducted by the working group will help to inform its ultimate findings and recommendations to the House.

Members of the working group are Representatives Jim Sensenbrenner (R-WI), Darrell Issa (R-CA), Zoe Lofgren (D-CA), Suzan DelBene (D-WA), Bill Johnson (R-OH), Adam Kinzinger (R-IL), Yvette Clarke (D-NY), and Joe Kennedy III (D-MA). Chairmen Goodlatte and Upton and Ranking Members Conyers and Pallone serve as ex officio members of the working group.