Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Committee Leaders Statement After Passage of Amended Television Viewer Protection Act

Nov 20, 2019
Press Release

Washington, D.C. – Energy and Commerce Committee Chairman Frank Pallone, Jr. (D-NJ), Ranking Member Greg Walden (R-OR), Communications and Technology Subcommittee Chairman Mike Doyle (D-PA), and Subcommittee Ranking Member Bob Latta (R-OH) released the following statement after the Full Committee voted favorably to advance H.R. 5035, the “Television Viewer Protection Act of 2019,” as amended, to the full House of Representatives:

“This legislation will ensure that broadcasters and MVPDs must negotiate in good faith and that smaller MVPDs can join together to negotiate collectively, all the while protecting consumers.  The bill also provides consumers with more transparency in cable and satellite TV billing by guaranteeing they have accurate information about the price they will pay and are not charged for equipment they don’t receive.”