Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Pallone on Committee Passage of Energy Cybersecurity Bills

Jun 10, 2021
Press Release

Energy and Commerce Committee Chairman Frank Pallone, Jr. (D-NJ) released the following statement today after the full Committee voted to favorably advance four bipartisan bills to improve our nation’s energy cybersecurity:

“The Colonial Pipeline ransomware attack was a sharp reminder of just how deeply we all rely on our energy infrastructure every day, and just how urgent it is that we act to modernize and protect it. As bad actors become increasingly sophisticated in their attempts to undermine our national security and energy reliability, it is imperative that we keep pace, and today that is exactly what we voted to do. 

“Together these four bipartisan pieces of legislation will enhance the security and resiliency of our energy system, particularly through empowering the Department of Energy with the tools it needs to respond. They represent our first legislative step toward addressing growing cybersecurity threats and vulnerabilities in our energy infrastructure, and I’m grateful to all the cosponsors for their hard, bipartisan work. I look forward to the full House taking action on these bills soon.”

The Committee favorably reported the following four bills to the House:

H.R. 2928, the “Cyber Sense Act of 2021,” was introduced by Reps. Bob Latta (R-OH) and Jerry McNerney (D-CA). It will bolster U.S. electric infrastructure by encouraging coordination between the Department of Energy and electric utilities. The bill was passed by voice vote.

H.R. 2931, the “Enhancing Grid Security through Public-Private Partnerships Act,” was introduced by Reps. McNerney and Latta. It directs the Secretary of Energy, in consultation with States, other Federal agencies, and industry stakeholders, to create and implement a program to enhance the physical and cyber security of electric utilities. The bill was passed by voice vote.

H.R. 3078, the “Pipeline and LNG Facility Cybersecurity Preparedness Act,” was introduced by Reps. Fred Upton (R-MI) and Bobby Rush (D-IL). It will strengthen the Department of Energy’s ability to respond to physical and cybersecurity threats to our nation’s pipelines and LNG facilities. The bill was passed by voice vote. 

H.R. 3119, the “Energy Emergency Leadership Act,” was introduced by Reps. Bobby Rush (D-IL) and Tim Walberg (R-MI). It will help elevate energy emergency and cybersecurity responsibilities as a core function for the Department of Energy. The bill was passed by voice vote.