Energy and Power

Chairman:  Ed Whitfield (KY-01)
National energy policy; fossil energy; renewable energy; nuclear energy; nuclear facilities; the Department of Energy; the Nuclear Regulatory Commission; the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission; synthetic and alternative fuels; energy conservation; energy information; utility issues; interstate energy compacts; energy generation, marketing, reliability, transmission, siting, exploration, production, efficiency, cybersecurity, and ratemaking for all generated power; pipelines; the Clean Air Act and air emissions; all laws, programs, and government activities affecting energy matters, including all aspects of the above-referenced jurisdiction related to the Department of Homeland Security.



Ed Whitfield (KY), Chairman
Pete Olson (TX), Vice Chairman
John Shimkus (IL)
Joseph R. Pitts (PA)
Bob Latta (OH)
Gregg Harper (MS)
David McKinley (WV)
Mike Pompeo (KS)
Adam Kinzinger (IL)
Morgan Griffith (VA)
Bill Johnson (OH)
Billy Long (MO)
Renee Ellmers (NC)
Bill Flores (TX)
Markwayne Mullin (OK)
Richard Hudson (NC)
Joe Barton (TX)
Fred Upton (MI) (Ex Officio)


Bobby L. Rush (IL), Ranking Member
Jerry McNerney (CA)
Paul Tonko (NY)
Eliot L. Engel (NY)
Gene Green (TX)
Lois Capps (CA)
Michael F. Doyle (PA)
Kathy Castor (FL)
John Sarbanes (MD)
Peter Welch (VT)
John Yarmuth (KY)
David Loebsack (IA)
Frank Pallone, Jr. (NJ) (Ex Officio)

November 13, 2015 | Press Release

WASHINGTON, DC – The House Committee on Energy and Commerce today announced its hearing and vote schedule for the week of November 16.

November 9, 2015 | Letter

We are writing to request that the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission convene a technical conference to examine the Commission's implementation of the Public Utility Regulatory Policies Act of 1978 (PURPA), in light of the significant developments in electricity markets that have occured since the enactment and subsequent amendment of the Act.

November 9, 2015 | Press Release

WASHINGTON, DC – Energy and Commerce Committee Chairman Fred Upton (R-MI), U.S. Sen.

November 6, 2015 | Press Release

WASHINGTON, DC – Energy and Commerce Committee Chairman Fred Upton (R-MI) issued the following statement in response to President Obama’s formal rejection of the Keystone XL pipeline:

November 5, 2015 | Press Release

WASHINGTON, DC – The Subcommittee on Energy and Power today was joined by the Chairman of the Committee on Industry, Research and Energy, Jerzy Buzek and members of the European Parliament in a roundtable discussion about energy policy and security.

November 5, 2015 | Press Release

WASHINGTON, DC – Building on the committee’s ongoing #RecordOfSuccess, the U.S. House of Representatives today approved five committee member bills as part of the broader highway bill.