Oversight and Investigations

Chairman:  Tim Murphy (PA-18)
Responsibility for oversight of agencies, departments, and programs related to the jurisdiction of the full committee, and for conducting investigations.



Tim Murphy (PA), Chairman
David McKinley (WV), Vice Chairman
Michael C. Burgess, M.D. (TX)
Marsha Blackburn (TN)
Morgan Griffith (VA)
Larry Bucshon (IN)
Bill Flores (TX)
Susan Brooks (IN)
Markwayne Mullin (OK)
Richard Hudson (NC)
Chris Collins (NY)
Kevin Cramer (ND)
Joe Barton (TX)
Fred Upton (MI) (Ex Officio)


Diana DeGette (CO), Ranking Member
Jan Schakowsky (IL)
Kathy Castor (FL)
Paul Tonko (NY)
John Yarmuth (KY)
Yvette D. Clarke (NY)
Joseph P. Kennedy, III (MA)
Gene Green (TX)
Peter Welch (VT)
Frank Pallone, Jr. (NJ) (Ex Officio)

November 30, 2015 | ICYMI

Earlier this fall, the Obamacare CO-OP dominos came tumbling down in rapid succession. Nine CO-OPs announced they would close, bringing the total failures to 12 out of 23. And the Obama administration’s response to the $1.23 billion hit to taxpayers?

November 30, 2015 | Press Release

WASHINGTON – U.S. Sen. John Thune (R-S.D.), chairman of the Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation, Sen. Ron Johnson (R-Wis.), chairman of the Senate Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs, Rep. Fred Upton (R-Mich.), chairman of the House Committee on Energy and Commerce, and Rep.

November 24, 2015 | Letter

Excerpt: The Committee is concerned that CMS does not have a plan to ensure that the remaining CO-OPs are financially solvent. The existing 11 CO-OPs represent over $1 billion dollars in federal loans that should be paid back to the federal treasury over the next decade.

November 23, 2015 | Press Release

WASHINGTON, DC – House and Senate leaders today expressed concern after a new report was released by the nonpartisan Government Accountability Office on the Homeland Security Department’s BioWatch program.

November 20, 2015 | Press Release

WASHINGTON, DC – Energy and Commerce Committee Chairman Fred Upton (R-MI), Ranking Member Frank Pallone, Jr.